Nominations Sought for 2018 Governorís Service Awards
Tue, 05 Dec 2017 16:40:00 EST
The Michigan Community Service Commission has announced that nominations are being sought for the 2018 Governorís Service Awards.
The awards are given annually by the governor to individuals, organizations and businesses to acknowledge their commitment to serving their communities through volunteerism.
This event is hosted by the Michigan Community Service Commission. The celebration will be held in June.
The 2018 Governorís Service Awards Nomination is an online application available at

Awards will be presented in ten different categories which reflect the diverse nature of volunteers throughout the state. Those categories can seen along with this story on our news page at

The awards were launched by Governor John Engler in 1992 and have been maintained over the years.


The categories are:
∑ Governor George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award: honors an individual who has shown a lifelong commitment to community involvement and volunteerism.
∑ Lifetime Humanitarian Award: honors individuals or families that have demonstrated a lifetime of outstanding civic and charitable responsibility to a community or organization.
∑ Senior Volunteer of the Year Award: honors individuals age 65 and older who have taken action to make their community a better place to live through service.
∑ Volunteer of the Year Award: honors an individual who strives to improve the lives of neighbors, friends, community or congregation through volunteerism.
∑ Youth Volunteer of the Year Award: honors individuals who are age 25 or younger who have already begun making a significant difference in their community through service.
∑ Mentor of the Year Award: honors an individual who provides youth (ages 25 and under) with the confidence and assets to be successful.
∑ Outstanding Volunteer Organization Award: honors service clubs, nonprofit, faith-based, veteran, disaster preparedness and other organizations that make a demonstrated difference in their community.
∑ Education Service Leader Award: honors schools, colleges, universities and other organizations that support youth making a difference in their communities.
∑ Outstanding National Service Program Award: honors organizations that provide a high-quality national service program that yields a significant impact in a Michigan community.
∑ Corporate and Small Business Community Leader Award: honors corporations and businesses that excel in community involvement and demonstrate excellent corporate citizenship
            by giving back to their community in a variety of ways.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReadyģNSI